Assignment Start: Visual Thinking

We were given our Visual Thinking brief this week and I’m already very excited for this one. This, unlike the Map of Bournemouth brief, is heavily research orientated based on one of seven optional questions available. We have to produce a publication by the end representative of what we have found via any number of illustrations and a 2500 word essay.

I’ve chosen question number one to focus on:

Modern media only represents a limited spectrum of gender, age, class and race. To what extent it this true within contemporary practices?

I’v’e been passionate about the representation of gender, sexuality and race for a long time (and wrote an essay concerning the representation of gender and sexual identity in film for my A2 Media Studies coursework), so I really can’t wait to expand on this visually. I’m looking forward to extending my research to race, though I’m hoping I’ll be able to include sexuality in this assignment too.

Time to get my head down.

Unpredictability of- .jpg

Leave a Reply

